Jivamukti Yoga – The Path to True Liberation

Jivamukti yoga teacher training

Founded by Sharon Gannon and David Life, the Jivamukti yoga style came into existence in East Village in New York City. Sharon and David came to India in 1986 and learned the sacred art of yoga under the tutelage of Yogi Sivananda.

The name Jivamukti comes from two different words, Jiva meaning the soul of a living person and Muktih which means liberation from the cycle of life and death. This style of yoga combines various physical, ethical, and spiritual practices derived from Vinyasa yoga. It follows the five important components of the yogic lifestyle namely Scriptures, Meditation, Ahisma, Meditation, and Music.

First, let us find what you can expect from a Jivamukti yoga class.

What to Expect From A Jivamukti Yoga Class?

Every Jivamukti yoga class has a specific theme explained by the teacher via yoga structure, meditation, asana practice, Pranayama techniques, and chanting. This is the reason why so many people prefer to learn this style of yoga.

A major part of Jivamukti yoga classes is the right interpretation of the principle of Ahimsa or non-violence. The teachers also advocate following a clean and vegetarian diet.

However, it is also important to know about the different Jivamukti yoga poses. Let us check out the five Jivamukti yoga poses you can practice to experience inner peace and tranquility.

5 Major Jivamukti Yoga Poses

An important thing for you to know is every Jivamukti asana is named either after an element of nature like plants and animals.

Given below are the five major Jivamukti yoga poses.

1. Hero Pose (Virasana)

Virasana is the starting point for every breathing exercise and meditation. It is one of the simplest Jivamukti yoga poses and provides your legs a lot of relief.

2. Bow Pose (Dhanurasana)

Dhanurasana is practiced in a variety of styles and yoga classes as it benefits multiple muscle groups and parts of your body like glutes, legs, core, and arms.

3. Monkey Pose (Hanumanasana)

Monkey pose is named after the Hindu god Lord Hanuman who is a prominent figure in the Hindu mythology. This Jivamukti pose requires a considerable level of flexibility. You should join a recognized yoga teacher training in India to learn about this yoga asana.

Read More – 6 Secrets to Safe Yoga Practice

4. Peacock Pose (Mayurasana)

Mayurasana is amongst the advanced asanas poses that require good balancing skills with considerable upper body strength. You should not practice this jivamukti yoga teacher training without the proper guidance of a certified yoga teacher.

5. Dancing Shiva Pose (Natrajasana)

Natrajasana resembles the Tandava dance position of Lord Shiva who is also known as Nataraja (King of Dance) in Hindu Mythology. Dancing Shiva pose is the most hardest yoga poses which tests your ability to balance, concentrate, and focus.


Jivamukti yoga helps you not just develop physical flexibility but also improves your concentration levels and stay away from anxiety. You should look for a recognized jivamukti yoga teacher training to learn this yoga style in detail and achieve liberation from all the stress and tension.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Conociendo Tumente